Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchSkin
-Followed by an absolute bullshit touchback! Play is dead when Apke controls the ball !
|
Nope, ball is dead if it is downed at that point. If he carries it into the endzone, deliberately or not, it's a TB. Rule is you cannot advance a muff (failure to secure the ball), only a fumble. Had Apke known the rules, he's have been smart and just stopped inside the 5.
Actually happened to me in a game over here. PR didn't catch it clean and I caught and fell on the ball. Teammates all saying should have gone for the EZ and only the coaches realised I'd been smart enough not to try to advance it. I'd understand amateurs like us not knowing the rules, but a pro with years of college behind him...