Quote:
Originally Posted by SFREDSKIN
What about the hit to head on Bradford on the 2 pt. Conversion that wasn't called? Shades of Thanksgiving.
|
There are a number of unofficial NFL rules that could have applied in that situation. The "No calls Against Dallas Inside the 20 Yard Line Rule", the "No Calls Against Dallas That Could Lead to Points by The Opposing Team Rule", The "No Calls that could Lead to a Dallas Loss Rule", or the "No Calls Against Dallas on a Thursday Rule" all could have applied in that circumstance.
Here is the actual NFL rule that applied: "Within the two-minute warning period (of either half), instant replay reviews can only take place if the replay assistant, who sits in the press box and monitors the network broadcast of the game, determines that a play needs review. Coaches may not use a coach's challenge."
The network broadcast clearly showed a hit to the head of Sam Bradford. The replay assistant could have called for a review, but he didn't. That should earn the replay assistant a free trip to Vegas with Stephen Jones on the Dallas Cowboys Party Bus, like the one his boss took before the season started.