Civics Test the College Kids all Failed

Parking Lot

Old 09-19-2007, 04:13 PM   #1
70Chip
Playmaker

Civics Test the College Kids all Failed

You can take the 60 question test here:

Civic Literacy Report - Civics Quiz

The highest ranked college was Harvard. Their seniors had an average score of 69.5. I got a 90 and I have no degree.

Advertisements
Old 09-19-2007, 04:27 PM   #2
Schneed10
A Dude

Re: Civics Test the College Kids all Failed

Stuff like this cracks me up. Knowing American historical facts like which battle ended the Revolutionary War, while an interesting fact that makes you well-balanced, has absolutely nothing to do with your ability to go forth and be productive in the workplace. The only profession in which this information is of any use is teaching.

People with Harvard degrees are highly paid because they can think through real problems in the workplace and enact plans to solve them.

If you can do well on this test, great. Congratulations, you've memorized a bunch of facts. But exactly how valuable a use of your time was it to memorize all that stuff?

Not trying to dump on any history majors out there. But to me, doing well on this test means jack diddily squat.
Old 09-19-2007, 04:31 PM   #3
firstdown
Living Legend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schneed10 View Post
Stuff like this cracks me up. Knowing American historical facts like which battle ended the Revolutionary War, while an interesting fact that makes you well-balanced, has absolutely nothing to do with your ability to go forth and be productive in the workplace. The only profession in which this information is of any use is teaching.

People with Harvard degrees are highly paid because they can think through real problems in the workplace and enact plans to solve them.

If you can do well on this test, great. Congratulations, you've memorized a bunch of facts. But exactly how valuable a use of your time was it to memorize all that stuff?