Quote:
Originally Posted by NC_Skins
|
I watched the video a few times. This is a tough call, however it is the right call. While the ball lands behind home plate in foul territory, it's not touched until it has come across home plate back into fair territory. Fair ball.
His actions weren't appropriate, as he put his hands up when he shouldn't have, and out of fairness he should have kept the ball dead. Could be that he was trying to keep his balance and stay out of the way of the play, although to throw your hands up in that kind of motion usually indicates foul ball. For that I can certainly agree with the Padres' beef. But in the end by the rules it's the correct call.