10-19-2010, 02:17 PM
|
#35
|
Playmaker
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 4,832
|
Re: #22 Rogers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouperMeister
The NFL introduced this flukey rule in the last 10 years that a receiver or a defender must maintain possession even after hitting the ground when falling to the ground as a single act following the catch. By this new definition of what constitutes a catch, Butch Johnson's TD in Super Bowl XIII would have been an incompletion. That said, if a receiver or defender makes a 2nd act after the catch, tucking the ball away, cutting upfield, tripping on his own, falling, then fumbling, then the ground can most certainly cause a fumble.
|
Thanks SM for the explanation. I wasn't sure I could actually express what I wanted to say about the play and make it make sense.
__________________
A revolution is coming and it will be televised.
|
|
|