Quote:
Originally Posted by SouperMeister
The NFL introduced this flukey rule in the last 10 years that a receiver or a defender must maintain possession even after hitting the ground when falling to the ground as a single act following the catch. By this new definition of what constitutes a catch, Butch Johnson's TD in Super Bowl XIII would have been an incompletion. That said, if a receiver or defender makes a 2nd act after the catch, tucking the ball away, cutting upfield, tripping on his own, falling, then fumbling, then the ground can most certainly cause a fumble.
|
*As long as he's not contacted by an opponent.