View Single Post
Old 02-20-2007, 04:52 AM   #1
offiss
Registered User
 
offiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: sparta, new jersey [ northern jersey ]
Age: 61
Posts: 3,097
Re: Steve Czban on Art Monk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemnseven View Post
This is simply not the case. I have a tape of the game, I've seen it and his toes are not "in the air" while his heel is down. One half of his foot comes down before the white line, while the other half (including his toes) comes down in the white. That's not a catch no matter how you try to explain it.

In your example, where the toes come down on end while the receiver's momentum carries him out -- as long as possession is confirmed, that's a catch because no part of his feet are touching any part of the white paint while he has the ball. In that instant, it's a catch and a touchdown. In his complete step, Monk's heel was in the endzone while his toes were out.

It's just not a catch.
If my memory serves me right I believe it should have been ruled a TD because Monk was pushed out but the ref failed to make the correct call.
offiss is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisements
 
Page generated in 0.08835 seconds with 10 queries