Commanders Post at The Warpath

Commanders Post at The Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Locker Room Main Forum (http://www.thewarpath.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Bucs Postgame (http://www.thewarpath.net/showthread.php?t=64794)

skinsfan69 01-10-2021 03:02 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=punch it in;1273498]My guess is he got an opportunity to start in Carolina and threw three interceptions. He choked. Understandable being an undrafted guy outta Old Dominion. Threw 55 passes though and hurt his elbow. Tough break. But he was never going to get the second chance ( or third fourth fifth etc) that say a Dwayne Haskins would. But he got that second chance miraculously and showed us he has huge potential.[/quote]

So true. Draft position always determines how much rope you have in the NFL.

FrenchSkin 01-10-2021 03:10 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=skinsfan69;1273526]The Evans play was within 5 yards. Nothing wrong w/ what he did.[/quote]

The 5 yards from LoS rule is for defense only, offense is not allowed to block past the LoS on a passing play.

skinsfaninok 01-10-2021 03:13 PM

Bucs Postgame
 
[QUOTE=skinsfan69;1273526]The Evans play was within 5 yards. Nothing wrong w/ what he did.[/QUOTE]


Believe it was Brate and if so yeah they let it slide but it was obvious as day he leveled Fuller

AnonEmouse 01-10-2021 03:23 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=FrenchSkin;1273514]Well NFL rules might differ on this but with NCAA/IFAF rules the ball is dead when controlled by a member of the kicking team.

Envoyé de mon SM-J320FN en utilisant Tapatalk[/quote]

They do indeed; if the ball is carried into or rolls into the end zone after being touched by the punting team it's a TB. Had he stopped anywhere before crossing the line it would have been Tampa Bay ball on the 5. His ignorance cost 15 yards.

"In the NFL, a punted ball does not have to enter the end zone for a touchback to occur, though this is often the case. [B]A player on the punting team who attempts to down the ball before it crosses the plane of the goal line must keep both feet outside the goal line.[/B]"

FrenchSkin 01-10-2021 03:32 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=AnonEmouse;1273530]They do indeed; if the ball is carried into or rolls into the end zone after being touched by the punting team it's a TB. Had he stopped anywhere before crossing the line it would have been Tampa Bay ball on the 5. His ignorance cost 15 yards.

"In the NFL, a punted ball does not have to enter the end zone for a touchback to occur, though this is often the case. [B]A player on the punting team who attempts to down the ball before it crosses the plane of the goal line must keep both feet outside the goal line.[/B]"[/quote]

No. This rule talks about a player [I][B][U]attempting[/U][/B][/I] to down the ball near the goal line. Apke did down the ball 9 yard from the goal line, and the ball was dead at that point, what happened after that didn't matter. Touching the ball and downing it are 2 different things.

MissouriSkin 01-10-2021 03:33 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=FrenchSkin;1273531]No. This rule talks about a player [I][B][U]attempting[/U][/B][/I] to down the ball near the goal line. Apke did down the ball 9 yard from the goal line, and the ball was dead at that point, what happened after that didn't matter. Touching the ball and downing it are 2 different things.[/quote]

To to mention that it did hit the TB player and it should have been our ball.

FrenchSkin 01-10-2021 03:55 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=AnonEmouse;1273530]They do indeed; if the ball is carried into or rolls into the end zone after being touched by the punting team it's a TB. Had he stopped anywhere before crossing the line it would have been Tampa Bay ball on the 5. His ignorance cost 15 yards.

"In the NFL, a punted ball does not have to enter the end zone for a touchback to occur, though this is often the case. [B]A player on the punting team who attempts to down the ball before it crosses the plane of the goal line must keep both feet outside the goal line.[/B]"[/quote]

There you go, took me some time because NFL and NCAA/IFAF rule books are structured differently, but the play is over when the ball is recovered by a member of the kicking team:

"The game clock operator shall [B]stop the game clock[/B] (timeout) upon a signal by any official or upon the operator’s own positive knowledge:

b) when the [B]kicking team recovers a scrimmage kick beyond the line of scrimmage[/B];"

And then:

"When the [B][U]kickers catch or recover a kick beyond the line of scrimmage, the ball is dead at the spot of recovery[/U][/B], even if a member of the receiving team has first touched the ball."

PorkSkins 01-10-2021 04:15 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
Not an excuse, by the way, but simply reality. Covid really screwed up things for society and this season.

Could you imagine 75K or more fans at last night's game.... It would've given our team (and, particularly, the defense) a huge boost. It can also at times help sway a call or two in your favor.

It may have been the boost in a close game like last night to give us a win.

Chief X_Phackter 01-10-2021 04:25 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=PorkSkins;1273536]Not an excuse, by the way, but simply reality. Covid really screwed up things for society and this season.

Could you imagine 75K or more fans at last night's game.... It would've given our team (and, particularly, the defense) a huge boost. It can also at times help sway a call or two in your favor.

It may have been the boost in a close game like last night to give us a win.[/quote]

Well the good thing is, RR and this team have given the fans a reason to be excited, and a reason to buy tickets and attend home games to cheer them on. Should be an exciting year next year if they are able to fill some holes, most importantly the QB position.

BaltimoreSkins 01-10-2021 05:10 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
The TB o-line played well. I do not have the data nor care to watch film and verify but I felt JDR rushed only four for much of the game. That is not going to get it done against that o-line and the GOAT. He is too good at stepping into the pocket and buying time. Heinicke played well but I still would prefer to get something in FA or trade. Wish our run game could have been existent. Overall thought the team played well.

JackLord 01-10-2021 07:26 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
Not the worst ending to the CRAZIEST season ever in Skins history. For a while I thought they guys might just do it. The cornerstone has been laid.

AnonEmouse 01-10-2021 07:28 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=FrenchSkin;1273535]There you go, took me some time because NFL and NCAA/IFAF rule books are structured differently, but the play is over when the ball is recovered by a member of the kicking team:

"The game clock operator shall [B]stop the game clock[/B] (timeout) upon a signal by any official or upon the operator’s own positive knowledge:

b) when the [B]kicking team recovers a scrimmage kick beyond the line of scrimmage[/B];"

And then:

"When the [B][U]kickers catch or recover a kick beyond the line of scrimmage, the ball is dead at the spot of recovery[/U][/B], even if a member of the receiving team has first touched the ball."[/quote]

No it's not, [B]as Apke carried it into the endzone[/B]:

The rulebook also gives a breakdown of when touchbacks can be ruled as seen below. These scenarios can only occur if the ball was sent over the goal line by the offensive or kicking team. A touchback occurs when:

The ball is dead in the opponent’s possession in its end zone
The ball is out of bounds behind the goal line
A kick has not been touched by the receiving team and the ball:
Touches the ground on or behind the receivers goal line
Touches a player on the kicking team who is touching the ball on or behind the receiver’s goal line
Touches a player on the kicking team who has touched the ground on or behind the receiver’s goal line and has not re-established himself in play
Any legal or illegal kick, other than one which scores a field goal, touches the receiver’s goal posts
If the kicking team interferes with the receiver’s ability to catch the ball or call fair catch while they are in their end zone
[B]If a player of the kicking team illegally catches or recovers a scrimmage kick in the field of play, and carries the ball across the goal line, or touches the goal line with any part of his body while in possession of the ball[/B]
A touchback is called if any of these scenarios occur. If a team is award a touchback off a kickoff, that team starts with the ball on their 25-yard line. If a touchback occurs not on a kickoff, then the team starts with the ball on their 20-yard line.


It doesn't matter if it touched the returner or not, he should know NOT to advance the ball, especially into the endzone.

SFREDSKIN 01-10-2021 07:36 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
Heinecken is a bad ass, he played the 4th quarter with a separated AC joint from his endzone dive TD.. Haskins would have sat over a hang nail.

[url]https://www.yahoo.com/sports/taylor-heinicke-played-final-quarter-053207856.html[/url]

SkinzWin 01-10-2021 07:54 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=SFREDSKIN;1273570]Heinecken is a bad ass, he played the 4th quarter with a separated AC joint from his endzone dive TD.. Haskins would have sat over a hang nail.

[url]https://www.yahoo.com/sports/taylor-heinicke-played-final-quarter-053207856.html[/url][/quote]

Haskins would have never made the play Heinicke did. He would have thrown an INT into a delayed drop coverage fake blitz by a linebacker.

FrenchSkin 01-10-2021 08:16 PM

Re: Bucs Postgame
 
[quote=AnonEmouse;1273567]No it's not, [B]as Apke carried it into the endzone[/B]:

The rulebook also gives a breakdown of when touchbacks can be ruled as seen below. These scenarios can only occur if the ball was sent over the goal line by the offensive or kicking team. A touchback occurs when:

The ball is dead in the opponent’s possession in its end zone
The ball is out of bounds behind the goal line
A kick has not been touched by the receiving team and the ball:
Touches the ground on or behind the receivers goal line
Touches a player on the kicking team who is touching the ball on or behind the receiver’s goal line
Touches a player on the kicking team who has touched the ground on or behind the receiver’s goal line and has not re-established himself in play
Any legal or illegal kick, other than one which scores a field goal, touches the receiver’s goal posts
If the kicking team interferes with the receiver’s ability to catch the ball or call fair catch while they are in their end zone
[B]If a player of the kicking team illegally catches or recovers a scrimmage kick in the field of play, and carries the ball across the goal line, or touches the goal line with any part of his body while in possession of the ball[/B]
A touchback is called if any of these scenarios occur. If a team is award a touchback off a kickoff, that team starts with the ball on their 25-yard line. If a touchback occurs not on a kickoff, then the team starts with the ball on their 20-yard line.


It doesn't matter if it touched the returner or not, he should know NOT to advance the ball, especially into the endzone.[/quote]

Agree on the last part. Doesn't matter if the ball touches the returner or not, you can't advance the ball either way... But I really don't understand the rule you posted: how can something that happened after the ball is dead impact the play ?

To me, and I remember NBC's rules analyst said so too, the rule you posted is meant to apply to a player of the kicking team trying to down the ball just outside the endzone, if he touches the goal line with his feet just when or right after he catches the ball, then it's a touchback. But when Apke catches the ball at the 9 by rule the ball is dead, anything that happened after that shouldn't count.

Found the rule your example refers to, I don't understand it to be written to apply to this situation at all:

"If a player of the kicking team illegally catches or recovers a scrimmage kick, other than a field-goal attempt from beyond the 20-yard line, and [I][U]touches the goal line with any part of his body while in possession of the ball, [B]the ball is dead[/B], and the result of the play is a touchback[/U][/I]."

It clearly describes a bang bang situation when the ball is caught and at the same time/right after a body part of the player crosses the goal line... otherwise they wouldn't specify "the ball is dead", cuz in Apke's situation the ball was already dead way before he crossed the goal line.

Good example of a badly written rule IMO.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
We have no official affiliation with the Washington Commanders or the NFL.

Page generated in 1.28948 seconds with 9 queries